alfreda89: 3 foot concrete Medieval style gargoyle with author's hand resting on its head. (Oxblood Lilies)
alfreda89 ([personal profile] alfreda89) wrote2006-04-10 01:18 am
Entry tags:

Busy weekend

This has been one of those weekends where by the end you go "huh?" and are only tired.


I did remember to practice my T'ai Chi Chih on Saturday, but got caught up in the tax thing and forgot today. I need to do it as soon as I can tomorrow -- if I become exhausted, I don't think to do it, I just collapse for a while on the bed and let cats roost on me . . . I will say the T'ai Chi Chih seems to give me energy. It is also painful to my hands, but seems to be less so each time I do it. The theory is, the Chi will balance my energies and improve my hands. Why do I believe this? Because [livejournal.com profile] 1minnesotagirl does this every day -- and when she gets too busy to do it, one of her fingers starts to get crooked. And straightens after some T'ai Chi Chih. Can it improve mine?

Worth a try . . . even just the energy is worth it. Simple, and I can feel the energy in the same way I feel muscle release while doing massage therapy.

Have begun the dreaded Taxes (I am almost ready to give it all to an accountant, as long as this act works out better than the last time I paid for tax advice) but must finish this time myself. Odd Friday was part of our weekend (most folk looked good, but S was much too bruised, and lucky to be alive!) Visited with the H mid-Saturday (N asked me if I was going to dye my hair. I did not need that, thank you! I'm the one who asks those horrible Allie questions, not N!) For a break we visited a few bookstores, went out for dinner Saturday night, and W worked on the paths in the side yard. He's decided more drainage will be needed, and this means pea gravel in our future. We already have a pile of decomposed granite, revitalizer mulch, and the sod he's taking out of the paths. To offset this mess, I have planted the lantana I've had in a huge pot for years, since I want that pot for a tomato. The lantana, bearer of huge, thickly coiled roots, is ecstatic and tried to double its new growth overnight.

I got two tomatoes planted in the two biggest pots, both heirloom varieties. one is Snow White Cherry -- pale ivory to ripe yellow, unique mild taste -- I thought it would make a great contrast to the colors of the others, and put it in the blue glazed pot. It's an indeterminate, which means it will grow as big as the pot and soon-to-be-here five foot ladder will allow it to be. In the former lantana pot (a big white plastic urn) is Mortgage Lifter, an improved version of Radiator Charlie. It has huge pink slicing tomatoes, and handles drought well. It may even produce during the heat. Also an indeterminate variety.

I have one more going in that is definitely considered an indeterminate, so I will go to HEB tomorrow and see if they have any of the REALLY big pots left. Otherwise, I have some nice biggish ones for the determinate and the question mark (can be D or I depending on heritage.) I didn't plant any of the huge producing indeterminates I'd like to try, like Arkansas Traveler or Brandywine. But a friend, RF, is planting Brandywine. I may start some seed on the AT in July in hopes of a fall crop, and swap with him.

This link has many varieties, including the two above.

Why pots? Because tomatoes really need raised beds down here, the rocky soil needs lots of help (at least in this yard, which probably has never been mulched since the house was built 30+ years ago). And W is working so hard on the paths, I don't want him to feel pressured about the beds. We'll get more soil and build a couple of raised beds, and a couple low things for the roses to be higher than the surrounding terrain. I will plant the roses I want I can find this fall, perhaps. If it doesn't happen until spring, I can be patient.

Gardens need to be, well, becoming. Not there, if you know what I mean.

Two other things tonight. W & I want to attend Conestoga this year, and I will be ordering tee-shirts tomorrow -- it's a great shirt this year, and the con (I went two-three years ago) is friendly and energetic. Part of the reason I pooped out on AggieCon was medical -- I just wasn't up to driving there alone when the meds had changed. But W wants to go with me, and even if something happens there, [livejournal.com profile] bevhale plans to go, so I could drive to OK City and let her drive to Tulsa. I trust her to get me there!


I've noticed new names appearing on the friends list. Welcome! If I haven't dropped by yet in return, it's because my time is crazed right now, and I don't get to do very many things just for me -- like plant tomatoes. If you're a blast from the past or a writer I should know, let me know. Otherwise, welcome to the whimsy, the political grumpiness (yes, I'm grumpy. I hate partisan politics and hate incompetence) and even con sightings and writing reports!

About time for a private journal report (yes, I've been avoiding it, I'm human...). If you want to be on the weird medical reports, give me a good reason to add you. Otherwise, another tomato report in a day or so.

Still haven't finished that SF short that has heritage roses in it. At this rate, it will be Labor Day when it's done. I'd better plan to read it at the next con. Speaking of...I need to accept a con invitation, if it's still open.

Pleasant dreams, all --

[identity profile] mevennen.livejournal.com 2006-04-10 07:49 am (UTC)(link)
I need to do something about my own tomato plants! I planted a load of seeds some weeks ago and most of them have come up: the little plants are about 4 inches high. We've been so busy and/or unwell that we haven't managed to re-pot them yet! Or put any potatoes or onions in - but OTOH it snowed here in England yesterday.

[identity profile] alfreda89.livejournal.com 2006-04-10 04:02 pm (UTC)(link)
Or put any potatoes or onions in - but OTOH it snowed here in England yesterday.

My goodness. Are you past your frost date? Of course, we often had snow several weeks late, when I lived in Indiana.

More plants to go, but T'ai Chi and grocery first...

[identity profile] madspark.livejournal.com 2006-04-10 12:25 pm (UTC)(link)
Yeah, I find that my Taiji makes me happy and does good things for my body...

[identity profile] martianmooncrab.livejournal.com 2006-04-10 06:25 pm (UTC)(link)
I got Orcaboard raised beds.. well just one so far, and its a beauty, you assemble it and then fill it up.. and I used the Lasagna gardening method to fill it .. so I didnt need to haul dirt.. hauled other things tho.. (well, Ru helped a lot, and I used the new garden cart to haul) mostly right now is deciding where things should go in the yard... and I too am buying a lot of pots so I can try different configurations out..

[identity profile] alfreda89.livejournal.com 2006-04-10 07:58 pm (UTC)(link)
Lasagna gardening method? Orcaboard? Do tell --

[identity profile] martianmooncrab.livejournal.com 2006-04-10 09:00 pm (UTC)(link)
the Orcaboard folks are at www.orcaboard.com they are a bit pricey but really worth it, they are recycled, and will last a long time and easy to put together..

the lasagna gardening is really cool, there are a couple of books by Patricia Lanza .. you build up the beds with newspaper and lawn clippings and peat moss.. its really a lot of fun..

[identity profile] alfreda89.livejournal.com 2006-04-11 08:01 pm (UTC)(link)
Well, the thought of using my shredded important papers as compost is almost as good as using someone I disliked for compost . .. ;^)

[identity profile] martianmooncrab.livejournal.com 2006-04-11 08:10 pm (UTC)(link)
with this method you can do both! yes, multitasking composting and layering..

[identity profile] alfreda89.livejournal.com 2006-04-11 08:19 pm (UTC)(link)
LOL!